🏆 BR of the Month 🏆
May 25, 2022
Gallery
Sacramento/Tahoe
Current Ride
2022 Bronco Raptor
Current Ride #2
2023 Land Rover Defender 110
Part 2 is the actual install of the skids.

The install was kind of a pain (for me) figuring out what to do but it actually wasn’t really difficult to actually do once I figured it out. The pain arose from the old instructions which refer to parts which aren’t provided or used for the Raptor, unclear on how much I actually need to loosen/drop the gas tank skid and that I am a crappy mechanic and hesitant to take a chance at creating further complications in the face of uncertainty. However throughout the process Greg Foutz and team were responsive and helpful.

As i referred to above the previous instructions were not helpful and actually impeded progress at several points. I’m a terrible mechanic, so I need good instructions to follow. So I’ll try to lay out things as detailed as possible below for others like me. This wasn’t hard once I knew I had the right hardware, where it was intended to go and what I needed to do to get the passenger skid on.

the instructions have been improved since I started, but there are still some quirks.

Hardware: You should receive a driver and passenger skid, four bolts and two nut plates which install on the drivers skid and a bolt, washer and my lock nut which are used on the passenger skid. See pic below.

Tools: The Foutz hardware is all 1/2“ so you’ll need a ratchet and combo wrench in that size. You’ll need a breaker bar and/or ratchet, 12” extension with 18mm socket for the gas tank skid bolts and 24 mm socket for the rear link bolts. Also an adjustable wrench for the nut on the rear link. A hammer to encourage the pivot bolt to move may be required. A hacksaw or sawzall with blade to cut the flag on both pivot bolts.

A pair of needle nose vise grips to hold the inside drivers nut plate in place while you thread the bolts in was very handy. See pic below.