Installing an ARB Twin in the spare tire mount

bajahaha

Jul 30, 2023
Gallery
PNW
Current Ride
'23 Bronco Raptor
This thread will cover mounting and wiring the compressor. This is intended as a companion to AGS Off Road's installation video, because there's a bunch of stuff he doesn't show or mention, so I'm posting my notes here.

Parts
ARB Twin
18' Expedition Essentials wiring harness, it's not on their site but if you call them they'll make it for you.
AGS Off Road Raptor Air Gate Kit

Tools
MetriPack Pin Removal Tool
Trim panel removal tools

[edited to add link to replacement trim parts]

PART 1: Mounting the compressor
1. Remove spare. Believe it or not, mission-critical step.
1691810500253.png

2. Remove the retention strap bolt, then remove all the bolts holding the spare mount to the door, but leave it hanging on the door (see #5 for why).
1691810516643.png

3a. Remove both trim panels. I have never done this before so I was worried about breaking them. I broke one of them. Now I'm not worried about it anymore, but I am ordering a replacement because knowing there's a broken part there will drive me nuts.
1691810598016.png

3b. When you remove the long piece at the top, avoid breaking it by removing the bottom first. I used a plastic trim pry bar. I broke two of the top clips clean off. Like the Dirty Harry of trim panel destruction.
1691810615383.png

3c. Managed to not break the other panel. Here are the clip locations for reference. Again, the ones on the long end will pop out without breaking if you're careful.
1691810642360.png

4. Disconnect the brake light and backup camera harnesses and pop out the weatherproof pass-thru by squeezing the clips on the top, bottom, and sides. Then you can remove the spare tire mount.
1691810688027.png